Roland

Aloha! It’s Roland Afaga, coming from Waimea on the Big Island of Hawaii. I currently attend Honoka’a High School, Class of 2018. I am Class President and participate in several activities such as NHS, Cultural Journalism, Leadership and Upward Bound.

Living in the islands has shaped me into the person that I have become today. Though I might live in paradise, I still love to travel and want to see more parts of the world. Hawaii is only a small portion of this large planet, I hope to be able to travel more after high school. I have already explored two of the happiest places on Earth, Disneyland and DisneyWorld. I have also visited the Philippines, where both my parents were born and raised with lots of siblings. In March 2017, I went to Washington DC for a college tour while also taking a quick look at national monuments.

My love for traveling has caused me to want to go to the mainland for college. But this also comes with its own disadvantages. With my family being a thousand miles away, where would I go to for support? How will I be able to get around? A flight nearly costs a thousand dollars, what if I get homesick? These are all questions that I hope to be able to answer before my senior year comes to a close.

When hearing about my acceptance to being a College Prep Scholar, it helped me learn about and listen to experiences of teens who had similar dreams and goals. This QuestBridge community has shown me opportunities that I had not even known had existed.

Entering my senior year, I am still largely confused about where I want to go or what I want to major in. Even if I have high goals and expectations, I don’t think I can be too disappointed with whatever senior year holds for me.

You can always email me at rolandafaga@gmail.com if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

