My name is Miranda Roland. I don’t know yet where I wish to end up in life, but there are three things I know for sure:

  1. I would love to combine artistic talents with engineering. I believe I’d like to get a degree in Environmental or Civil Engineering.
  2. I want to make a difference in this world, hopefully through a combination of my art, science, and a dash of politics.
  3. I eventually want a dog.

I currently go to Highland High School. I lived in Oakland, California until I was seven years old, and moved to my current residence of Salt Lake City, Utah. I’m currently a Head Lifeguard at Fairmont Aquatic Center, where I am the boss to lifeguards and swim instructors during closing shifts on weekends.

In the summer of 2016, I got to partake in a life changing opportunity with NSLC, as I participated in their Leadership Conference at American University in their Intelligence and National Security course. I was allowed to visit the Pentagon, F.B.I Headquarters, and meet several special agents. In April of 2017, I was chosen as a QuestBridge College Prep Scholar, based not only on my financial need and academic excellence, but also on my leadership. I am members of several clubs, such as MESA, National Honor Society, Model U.N., and Environmental Safety. I have also swam for my high school’s team for 3 years, and plan to continue on in my Senior year.

I’m a little all over the place with my passion and love of art, science, politics, and intelligence with national security. Even as a baby, I would be seen stomping around with a pencil or stolen paintbrush in my mouth. I have lived and breathed art for as long as I could remember. Although the connections between art and aforementioned passions don’t show a clear connection, they are all linked through expression.

I am fascinated with the expression of languages, as I’ve spent three years learning French. I am fascinated with the expression of emotions through humans, so I wish to learn Psychology. I am fascinated with the way life expresses itself, so I study Biology. Although I am not sure of a clear path in where I will head later in life, I know that whatever I will do will implement the beauty of the world and its expressions.

If you have any questions or wish to contact me, do so at mirandaemilyroland@gmail.com.

 

Leave a Reply

